I have always made my pancakes from scratch.  I’ve tinkered with the recipe over the years and have a relatively healthy one in its current incarnation.  Except for the chocolate chips.  Heh.  Now everyone knows that I am a Lazy Cook and I’m sure are wondering how the heck making pancakes from scratch is being lazy.  It’s not in the making, it’s how many I make.  And freeze.  And defrost when my kids refuse to eat anything before school.   I loved chocolate chip pancakes as a kid and my kids adore them, but now the thought sort of turns my stomach.  At least they’re eating.

So here it is:  Chocolate Chip pancakes 2010

Makes about 24 pancakes

Dry Ingredients: 

1 cup of all purpose flour

1 cup of whole wheat flour

3 tablespoons of ground flax seed (I started adding this as a postcancer thing.  Supposed to be good for keeping it away.)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Wet ingredients:

1 teaspoon lemon juice

2 cups 1 percent milk

1/2 cup applesauce (I used blueberry applesauce today)

2 eggs

1/4 cup agave (I’m guessing.  I just sort of squirted some in.)

3 tablespoons canola oil (this can be omitted but I think it helps hold the pancakes together better)

 Blend dry ingredients with a whisk in a big bowl.  Using the same whisk, beat wet ingredients into another bowl (I hate washing more than one whisk.)  Dump wet into dry and whisk together.  Pour on a hot griddle ( I can fit 6 on my stove griddle) and artistically place chocolate chips onto the pancakes in an aesthetically pleasing way.  Or just sprinkle them on like I do.  It’s time to flip when the batter starts to look a bit waxy and the bubbles don’t disappear when they pop.

Happy Chocolate Chip Pancake Kid

 

Other Happy Chocolate Chip Pancake Kid

