So today I’m 36.  I’m sort of ambivalent about it.  I woke up feeling weird and disconnected and it sort of hasn’t left me.

School was fine.  I did have a little kid freak out in class and have to get sent home.  I’ve never had that happen before.  Mostly I just feel bad for the little guy that his life is so crappy he felt he needed to pick a fight in music class to establish his credibility.  Which, of course, it didn’t and now he’s in trouble.  *sigh*  I shouldn’t focus on the one negative incident since I had a lovely day with the rest of the kids, but I think it’s something inherent in teachers to want to help the ones that need help.

As for the ambivalence, I think it’s like a friend posted on my Facebook wall.  (Yes, Rex, I’m going to quote you.)  Heh.

“I think our souls never age, and are amused as they watch the rest of ourselves get older.”

Sometimes I think I’m 12, enjoying the music games as much as the kids.  Then they will yank me back to adulthood by needing me to referee.  Sometimes I am 80, with my joints and back creaky from Tamoxifen, but then later I’m back to my teens, playing Mario Kart with the boy.  I guess I just don’t feel defined by a number anymore.

It is, however, a good excuse to eat cake.

Mmm.  Cake.

