Chicken with tarragon and leeks

Chicken with tarragon and leeks

I have a love/hate relationship with my Crockpot.   A friend of mine put it best when she said setting a Crockpot with a meal in the morning makes it feel like someone has come over and made dinner for you when you get home from work.  Now I’m lucky enough to be a stay at home mom, but let me tell you, I feel the same way.  I have one of those Crockpots that can make enough food for an army, and that you can set high or low for a specified amount of time.  At the end it switches to low.  I find my Crockpot runs really hot.  I read over at A Year of Crockpotting that this might be because the pot is too big for the amount of food I’m making.  I haven’t investigated this, but when I do, I’ll let you know what I discover.

Anyhoo, I had a pretty busy week last week, two Planina concerts and an accompanying job, so the Crockpot was my buddy.  I think I may have used it every day, mostly with success (Don’t do pasta.  It just doesn’t work.  Burns burns burns.).  The favorite of the week, with me, husband and the kids was Chicken with tarragon and leeks from the Real Simple magazine.  3 of the recipes I made that week came from it.  I love that magazine.  But that’s another post.  I did, however, make some lazy-cook-on-a-diet-and-a-budget substitutions. Instead of new potatoes, I cut up some russets I had here at home.  Worked just fine.  I found out at the last minute that my onions had rotted.  Bummer.  So I used a bag of frozen onion from King Soopers.  I only used 2 leeks because they are crazy expensive.   Fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream.  I also used 16 oz of peas instead of 10 oz because that’s what I had and I didn’t want to put such a piddling amount back in the freezer.  It was really good.  Especially the fresh tarragon.  Yum.

