Unless you are locked in a cave somewhere with no internet access or television, then you’ve watched this wonderful performance by Susan Boyle on Britain’s Got Talent.

I love her performance.  That song is freaky hard and even well trained singers struggle with it.  What annoys me is the idea that the judges and the audience were so surprised she could sing.  As if physical beauty has anything to do with musical ability.  The idea that only people who look like fashion models should sing is a very new one.  I blame MTV.  I think video really did kill the radio star.  Think about it.  Think of all the music we would have missed out on today if they had been judged solely by their ability to sell clothing, perfume etc.  All those Average Joe looking people with amazing talent.  Billy Joel for one.  Carol King.  Elton John.  So so many others.  Journey.  (Yes I’m showing my white suburban 70s and 80s upbringing).  It makes me wonder who we’re missing out on now.  Like Susan Boyle. 

And that’s my 2 cents.

