Back in 2005, I delighted to learn not only was I pregnant, but that my very good friend Lisa was as well.  It’s always more fun to be pregnant with a friend.  Someone who’s there, right in the nausea trenches with you.  We kept tabs on each other by phone and by email.  When we had our annual girl trip, we made early morning runs to McDonalds for Egg McMuffins, while the other girls slept in.  When October rolled around, I had J by C-section and Amelia was born soon after, the old fashioned drug free way (You go, Lisa!)  We continued to correspond and I couldn’t wait to meet the girl with the elfin ears and stunning blue eyes.  At Christmas, they came to visit, but unfortunately we were in FL at the time and I never got to meet her.  I will forever regret that.  A month later, I received the awful phone call.  She was gone, taken by SIDS.  My heart still breaks for my friend every October, when the bustle of J’s birthday is over and I remember that her birthday is today.  So today I celebrate the life of the little elf girl on her birthday.  I’ve been knitting baby hats for her.  Lisa had posted on her Facebook page that they recommend the Knit One, Save One program.  Save the Children is committed to creating lasting change for children in need both in the U.S. and around the world.  Remembering you today, darling Amelia, and sending all my love to your family.

