Today was L’s last day of summer vacation.  She starts kindergarten tomorrow.  When I was little (heck even when I was teaching!) I could never sleep the night before school started.  So where is L?  Sleeping like a baby.  Where’s Mama?  Writing a blog post at 11 at night.  Hello insomnia, my old friend.  I will say this.  Not sleeping means I’m getting caught up on my knitting.

Voila!  Baby Surprise Jacket in Cascade 220 Superwash!

Cascade 220 superwash Baby Surprise Jacket

Cascade 220 superwash Baby Surprise Jacket

Knitting this was crazy.  It looks nothing like a baby sweater at all and more like a deformed kite when you’re finished.  A couple nifty folds and suddenly it’s a cute jacket!  EZ was one brilliant lady.  I can’t even conceive of how she designed this.  Anyway, loved it so much, I’m making 2 more for my friend who had the twins.  Must finish baby sweaters while the babies are still babies.  🙂

For L’s last day, my good friend Pam (who just got married at the coolest wedding) suggested we head down to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo in Colorado Springs.  We had a great time, though I think they should call it the Cheyenne Giraffe Zoo since they have so many.  One of the best parts for me was it was all walking on an incline up the side of a mountain.  Now I’m sure you’re asking yourself, how is this good?  One month ago that hike would have kicked my a**.  Today I survived it.  My body is finally but slowly starting to recover from all those toxic drugs.  Don’t get me wrong.  I hurt like crazy when I got home, but at least it was hurting from actual physical activity.  My poor body is probably the most out of shape it’s ever been.  I’ve been heavier, but I was still active.  5 months of sitting around has not done much for my cardiovascular system.  Anyway, it felt good to hurt.  And then it felt better after I took some pain relievers.

Heh.

So I leave you with some pictures of my other favorite things at the kick-your-butt Mountain Zoo.

C, J and L (who is pretending to be a giraffe)

C, J and L (who is pretending to be a giraffe)

 

Real giraffe

Real giraffe

