Pathology is back.  It’s a good thing we did the mastectomy because the other suspicious areas of cancer were cancer.  All in all there were 3 tumors, a 3.2 cm, 1.3 cm, and a 1.7 cm, all of which are grade III.  The margins look good which means they got it all out.  As for the lymph nodes, she took out a total of 14 nodes, 4 of which were cancerous.  I know this looks alarming, but it really just means that we need to do aggressive chemotherapy, which we knew already.  So the treatment hasn’t really changed too much.  Mostly it just reiterates that we did the right thing.  I won’t have the hormone receptor info until later this week.  🙂

As for recovery, I’m doing OK.  Percoset is both my best friend and my worst enemy.  And unfortunately there’s not a lot they can do about the nerve pain that is left from surgery on the lymph nodes.  So far that’s been the worst.  At first I thought it was something pulling on my drains (which are now hanging from a crocheted belt I made because the fanny pack hit me right where the drains attach.)  I’m so crafty.  Heh.

